The Maltz Heritage Award

Dr. Delos Cosgrove, Cleveland Clinic CEO, was the recipient of the Maltz Museum of Jewish Heritage’s Maltz Heritage Award at a sold-out celebratory dinner held at the InterContinental Hotel in Cleveland. Guests heard remarks from Larry Pollock, event chair and Milton Maltz introduced Annie Robinson, the winner of the 2013 Stop the Hate Essay contest.

Race for the Place

The yearly Race for the Place, held at Beachwood Place, benefited The Gathering Place. Included in the participating teams were the Zohar’s Zoomers, organized by the Gottlieb and Saidel families who raised funds in memory of Zohar Gottlieb Karin, who passed away this year from cancer.

Dr. Perry Brickman

The Alpha Omega Dental Fraternity Cleveland chapter and the Mt. Sinai Health Care Foundation teamed up to bring oral surgeon Dr. Perry Brickman to Temple Emanu El in Orange. Brickman spoke about the anti-Semitism at Emory Dental School from 1948-61 and presented the film “From Silence to Recognition: Confronting Discrimination in Emory’s Dental School History.” The evening was a fundraiser for Dental Volunteers for Israel, which provides free dental care for Jerusalem’s at-risk children and youth.

Women’s philanthropy initiative luncheon

The Women's Philanthropy Initiative of the Jewish Federation of Cleveland held its annual Spring Luncheon at Landerhaven in Mayfield Heights. The event, chaired by Becky Heller, Cindy Attias, Judy Eigenfeld and Margaret Richards Frankel, featured former Clinton administration press secretary Dee Dee Myers. Dr. Karen Jaffe received 2013 Irene Zehman Volunteer Award.